Posted by: Mary | October 9, 2012

Change of seasons in the “Mile High City”

Last Monday, I arrived in Denver for a business trip and it was a beautiful 85F outside.  For two lovely days, I experienced summer in Denver (when I was able to get outside).  On Wednesday, the temperature dropped by about 30 degrees, and by Thursday night, we received snow.  That’s right, snow!  In less than 48 hours, we went from summer to winter.  Living in California, I’m not used to such a drastic change of seasons practically overnight, and I certainly wasn’t prepared for it.  I had last checked the weather about four days prior to departure and it showed sunny weather in the mid-70 to mid-80 degree range.

Here’s my tip for anyone planning a trip to Denver in the Fall.  Pack in layers and expect the unexpected!


Responses

  1. Hi Mary, I can relate to your Denver trip with the fast changing weather. Here in Christchurch, New Zealand we are just a hop, skip and jump from the Antarctic, with small land mass and a range of mountains close by, weather can change in a flash. We do have lovely summers. Keep up the travels, I envy you.

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog. I hear Christchurch is beautiful and would love to visit someday. We spent a week in the north part of the North island in late June/early July 2009 and fell in love with New Zealand. It was a bit chilly and we had one day of heavy rain, but it was still wonderful. Due to the time of year, we chose this part because it was warmer, but we really want to see so much more of New Zealand.


What are your thoughts?

Categories