Posted by: Mary | August 20, 2012

The Esslinger Mittelaltermarkt and Weinachtsmarkt were wonderful!

December 2011

The next morning, I took the train a short 15 minutes from Stuttgart to nearby Esslingen am Neckar.  Esslingen is a beautiful Medieval city on the Neckar river that hosts a Medeival market and a Christmas market.  If you read my post about the Durlach medieval market, this is the wonderful market I was alluding to!  I arrived about an hour before the market opened so that I could wander the city and find something to eat.  I stopped at a bakery for some fresh-baked goods (breads in Germany are wonderful and inexpensive, and can be found just about everywhere).  I passed my first Starbucks on this walk, and would later return to warm up with something hot to drink and use the free WiFi to connect with people back home.

If I were looking for a city in which to live in Germany, I would seriously consider Esslingen.  It’s got easy transportation into Stuttgart for all that it has to offer, as well access to a major airport, and it’s absolutely beautiful.

Esslingen am Neckar

Esslingen am Neckar

Esslingen am Neckar

When the markets opened, I wandered through the Medieval market first, followed by the Christmas market.  Both were pretty large and had a variety of booths.  the Medieval market stalls were decorated in period style and all of the vendors were appropriately dressed for the Middle Ages.  All of the crafts also fit the period, with lots of leather and iron goods.  There was also an activity area for children and a class field trip was going on when I visited.  The Christmas market was filled with the typical items seen at the other Christmas markets.

Esslingen Mittelaltermarkt

Wine for Sale at the Esslingen Mittelaltermarkt

There was even a “Christmas donkey” at the market and he has his own Facebook Page.  His name is Otto and he was quite popular with kids and adults alike.  While I was there, I saw him taken out for a walk around the market.  I wasn’t able to get good photos with all of the people trying to get their own photos.

Responses

  1. […] the city and it looks like a nice city, but I didn’t fall in love with it the way I did with Esslingen.  Perhaps if I had arrived earlier when it was less crowded, or at a different time of the year […]


What are your thoughts?

Categories

