Posted by: Mary | August 17, 2012

Christkindlesmarkt in Germany!

In December 2011, I took a trip to Germany to see the Christmas markets.  In 2003, while my sister and I were visiting Prague, I had my first experience at the markets and wanted to see the ones in Germany, but put it on the back burner for a number of years due to other trips that I took.  I booked a flight to Stuttgart and planned to take a train to a town near Karlsruhe where I stayed with friends for several days and used their home as a base before heading back to Stuttgart for a few more days.

Things didn’t start out so well when my flight from SFO was delayed a few hours due to high winds.  It meant that I missed my connection in Frankfurt and my ride from Stuttgart with my friend who works in the city.  Instead, I ended up catching a train from Frankfurt to Karlsruhe and then to his town to meet up with him and his fiance.  It took a lot longer than planned, but I finally made it. The next week would be filled with nearly a dozen Christmas markets in the same number of towns, lots of holiday decorations, some shopping, and of course, eating & Glühwein!

What are your thoughts?

Categories

