Posted by: Mary | August 16, 2012

Half a Day in D.C.

Originally published on my private blog on April 25, 2010

Tian Tian, a Giant Panda, at the National Zoo

I had a business trip to Washington D.C. and arrived with about a day of free time, so I decided to go out to the National Zoo to see the pandas since they had been in the middle of a habitat remodel the last time I was there. I was in luck and the male panda, Tian Tian, was out and actively eating. I was able to get a lot of good photos.  Heading to the zoo right after it opened allowed me to see the pandas before it got too busy, as they are one of the most popular attractions. Taking photos would have been much more difficult if the crowds were larger than they were, as there was barely any viewing space available without heads in the way.  (If you want to see them but can’t get to the National Zoo, check out the Panda Cam on their website.

From the zoo, I walked up to the National Cathedral. It’s out of the way from just about everything in D.C. and with my short amount of time there on each of my previous business trips, I’d never made it, but I finally did this time. As I was walking up, the bells were ringing. I got there after Sunday’s services had finished and had the chance to wander around in the beautiful cathedral. When I was finished, I stopped for a late lunch and then walked back to my Bed and Breakfast to get ready for my meeting. My time in D.C. is always too short….

National Cathedral

Responses

  1. My favorite place on Earth! Awesome blog!

    • Thanks! I love D.C., too. I could live there.


What are your thoughts?

Categories

