Posted by: Mary | August 15, 2012

Bosnia Dreams

I had to go back to add to my travel bucket list again today after reading a post on the blog, The View from Fez.  I subscribed to this blog after spending 24 hours in Morocco in 2009 and had quickly fallen in love with the country.  (Love at first sight?)  While I don’t know when I’ll get back, I enjoy reading about what’s going on there and checking out some great photos.

That leads me to this post.  I saw a photo of the most beautiful bridge in a post titled “Ramadan Greetings from Bosnia” and immediately knew I have to go there someday.  The photo is of the Stari Most (Old Bridge) over the Neretva River in Mostar and the author of the blog has included some other wonderful photos.  It’s amazing how a single photo can inspire a trip.  In 2003, a photo of Prague inspired me to book a trip there.  Now I’m wondering when I will be able to fit Bosnia into my limited travel schedule….  I’d love to hear from others who have been there to see how you enjoyed it and if you have any recommendations!

Responses

  1. I’ve been twice and am totally in love with the place — it has it’s rough edges, no doubt — but i have a lot of photographs and reflections on my blog about my trip this summer. I was in Sarajevo (must see), Tuzla, Srebrenica, Mostar, Bihac, and the Plitvicka Jezera national park in Croatia. Cheers!

  2. Thanks Tom! I’ll check out your blog tonight! Can’t wait to see the photos and I definitely lan to include Sarajevo, but am interested in recommendations for other cities.

    • Great, Mary! I don’t know how adventurous you are, but I find it pays to have some contacts on the ground, for help with language, transportation, etc. It’s not the easiest place to navigate, or get around…but man oh man, the food, the landscape, the people…so much is absolutely breathtaking. The best little travel guide I’ve seen is put out by Culture Smart, which I got from Amazon…

      • I like to travel outside of my comfort zone and meet new people, experience new cultures, etc. but it would definitely be helpful to have a local contact in case I get into sticky situations or need assistance with language or transportation. Half the fun of a trip is the research and planning, so I’ll have to check out the guide you recommended. Thanks! If you think of anything else, I’m all ears.

  3. Mary, that sounds great. Check out the state dept warnings too — especially if you’re traveling alone. Tourists generally get treated with the greatest of kindness, but it pays to take extra precautions when it comes to your passport, your money, and your safety. I was with Bosnians literally almost every minute of my trip, so I felt right at home.

    And thank you SO much for checking out my blog! It’s great to have your responses and support.

    • Thanks Tom. I do typically check out the State Dept travel warnings to avoid any unnecessary danger, especially in places where I won’t be able to speak the language. I’ve got travel plans for my vacation time the rest of this year and ,ost of next year, so I’m thinking 2014! Unless something happens between now and then to change any of my other plans…..

  4. Hi you need to read this book before you go called The Bridge on the Drina by Yugoslav writer Ivo Andrić in 1945. He won the Nobel Prize for Literature for this book. I have been to Croatia and drove through Bosnia Herzkovina for a bit. For me it was a little scary with all the military but Croatians go there to shop because it is much cheaper. It looks just like Croatia. i was in Burma in January and it was fine so as long as the State Dept says ok and you are careful, you will probably be ok.

    • Thanks! I’ll check out your book recommendation. I always like to read non fiction about a place I’m visiting, or fiction set there if it’ll give me a good sense of the place.


What are your thoughts?

Categories

