Posted by: Mary | August 13, 2012

Countdown to Spain!

After my previous issues trying to find someplace to go using airline miles this December, I finally booked my ticket tonight! A friend is going to join me for this trip and we will be flying into Barcelona, where we will spend 3 days before heading to Madrid.  This will be her first trip to Spain and my first trip to these cities in Spain.  My previous trip was with my husband and some friends, where we spent time in the Costa del Sol.

While booking the trip, I learned something interesting.  If you saw my post a few weeks ago, you know that I discovered when American Airlines books a code share flight on British Airways, the taxes and fees are outrageous.  40,000 miles and over $700!  By selecting cities where American flies its own planes, it was 40,000 miles and just under $60!  Now that’s a bargain!

The “Express” train between the two cities takes over 8 hours and costs @55 Euros.  The high speed train has three different fares, the lowest being @ 117 Euros, and the trip takes between 2.5 – 3 hours.  Out of curiosity, I checked flights and found that we could book one for $63 (USD) and it only takes 1 hour 20 minutes.  Add in the airport time before the flight an we’re at about the time it takes to take the high speed train at about half the cost.  The Expedia website showed no baggage fees for Iberia airlines, but I’ll check with Iberia to be sure.  Since we’ll only be gone 9 days, we should be able to each pack in a roll-aboard.

I’m looking forward to all there is to see and do in these two cities, including the Christmas markets.  We’re also planning a day trip to Toledo and possibly another city or two.  If anyone out there has any recommendations on what we simply cannot miss, please post your comments!

Responses

  1. Buscando cosas acerca de los madriles para un trabajo que me toca hacer en la universidad he encontrado esta página y me ha gustado mucho. . A la lista de favoritos!.

    • Gracias, Margarita. Good luck with your project!

  2. I think you have up to 23k with Iberia! So don’t worry and have fun in Spain!

    • Thanks! I appreciate it.

  3. great articles, i hope you keep posting these nice and good examples. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails


What are your thoughts?

Categories

