Posted by: Mary | August 2, 2012

Why I’m finally starting a public travel blog…

More than 5 years ago, I started a blog for family and friends so that I could share my travel adventures with those who are scattered across the country.  Over time, I realized that it was a great way to capture some of the highlights of my trips and the little details that I’d later forget.  I’d get comments from both friends and family about how much they enjoyed “living vicariously” through me on some of these trips, and also got lots of questions about how I had gone about planning certain things, what sources I used for research or booking, how I determined what was worthwhile so that I could make the most of my time, etc. It made me realize that maybe it was time to start a blog that was open to anyone to read, comment, and share their own thoughts and advice.

On this blog, I hope to share with you the passion I have for travel and hope to connect with others who share that passion, even if they have yet to plan their first big trip.  I hope to be able to provide some tips and share my thoughts as I go about planning upcoming adventures around the world and close to home.  And I’ll also revisit some of my favorite trips from the past and share what I learned, drawing from what I’d previously documented so that I don’t miss the details.  I hope you enjoy this blog and invite you to share your thoughts, and your advice, too!

What are your thoughts?

Categories

