Posted by: Mary | August 2, 2012

My Travel Bucket List

Since it looks like my December travel plans may need to change this year, I’m doing a little research on what my other travel destination options are.  That has me perusing websites and blogs for ideas, and it made me reflect on my unofficial travel bucket list. Years ago, when I was only 18, I made a list of things I wanted to do and places I wanted to go during my lifetime.  I didn’t call it a “bucket list” at the time, but that’s exactly what it was.  I found it a number of years later & enjoyed rediscovering what my 18 year old self had dreamed of doing.  Then I started revising the list based on my new desires…and checking off the things I had accomplished.

Since I’ve been traveling for a number of years and visited somewhere around 30 countries, you’d think that the list should be getting shorter, but it’s not.  Every time I discover something new, there’s more to add to the list.  So here’s a first attempt at recording it for the first time in about 5 years (in no particular order). Some are cities, some are countries, some are places within a city/country.  There’s no rule to how you record the places you want to visit, right?

  • Beijing & Xian
  • Vietnam
  • Budapest
  • Bratislava
  • Ukraine
  • Poland
  • Tallin
  • Croatia
  • Rome, Cinque Terra, the Vatican
  • Greece
  • Istanbul
  • Marrakech, Rabat, Casablanca
  • Azores, Madeira
  • Kruger National Park in South Africa
  • Niagara Falls
  • ANWR, Denali
  • Panama
  • Costa Rica
  • Galapagos Islands
  • Antarctica
  • Machu Picchu
  • Buenos Aires
  • Easter Island
  • Fiji
  • South Island of New Zealand
  • Australia
  • Bali
  • Tunisia
  • Egypt
  • Jordan
  • Darjeeling
  • Yellowstone National Park
  • Stonehenge
  • Japan
  • St. Petersburg
  • Thailand
  • Bhutan
  • Helsinki
  • Stockholm
  • Copenhagen
  • Romania
  • Vienna
  • Dubai
  • Manitoba (for the polar bears!)
  • Nairobi (I’d love to visit the Giraffe Lodge!)
  • Mostar, Bosnia
  • Plain of Temples in Myanmar
  • Chiang Mai (Thailand)
  • Angkor Wat
  • Brazil

These are just the ones I came up with in about 5 minutes.  I’m sure I’ll be back to add more….  I’ve left off places that I’ve already been (such as the Taj Mahal, Venice, Iceland, London, Neuschwanstein Castle, Riga, Gibraltar, etc.), but I’m interested in suggestions.  Did I miss your favorite place? If so, tell me about it!

Update: Here are some of the ones that were on the list but have been visited:

  • Amsterdam
  • Paris
  • Belgium
  • London
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Gibraltar
  • Alhambra in Granada (Spain)
  • Schloss Neuschwanstein
  • Christmas Markets in Germany
  • Quito & Cuenca (Ecuador)
  • New York City
  • Washington DC
  • Victoria & Vancouver
  • Prague
  • Venice
  • Switzerland
  • Taj Mahal
  • North Island of New Zealand
  • Chichen Itza & Tulum Mayan ruins
  • Lithuania
  • Latvia
  • Yosemite National Park

I’ve visited other places that were wonderful, but hadn’t made the “bucket list”.  Given the opportunity, I’d travel just about anywhere at least once, just for the experience.

Responses

  1. I like your list but add Dubai and Amsterdam. (see my blog). Living in Toronto, I’m spoiled by seeing nearby Niagara Falls with some regularity (saw it last weekend), cheers,

    • Mark,
      Thanks for checking out my blog. You’re absolutely right that Dubai should be on the list. I can’t believe that I forgot to add it, but will update the list! As for Amsterdam, it didn’t make the list because I’ve already been there (in 2003). Perhaps I should find a way to update the list to include places that were on the list previously, but have been done. BTW, I’m jealous that you see Niagara Falls so often!
      Mary

  2. […] had to go back to add to my travel bucket list again today after reading a post on the blog, The View from Fez.  I subscribed to this blog after […]

  3. I see that you have Yellowstone National Park on your list. We went a number of years ago and got near impossible reservations at the Old Faithful Inn, the most requested lodging in the Park. We went at the end of September, beginning of October, just before the Inn closed for winter. It was a time when a lot of the elk and moose were on the move. One day we drove towards the Montana exit/entrance and joined a number of others parked on the side of the road to watch the big horn sheep butting heads. What a treat! The morning we left it snowed and some of the roads back to Jackson Hole were closed until early afternoon. It was a great trip and well worth the time we spent on the phone with reservations trying to get the rooms that we needed.

    Also, if you haven’t been to Maui, but sure to add it to your list. It’s beautiful and the people are wonderful. For a true “taste of the island”, don’t stay in one of the larger tourist areas like Lahaina. Instead try to stay in one of the smaller communities like Kihei.

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog and for providing the tips on Yellowstone. It sounds like a great time of year to go. We’d love to see the moose on the move and view as many of the animals as possible. I’m also glad to hear that the Lodge was worth the wait to get a reservation. I’ll give it a try when we plan the trip.

      As for Maui, I have been dozens of times because it’s where my family has lived for the last few generations and my extended family is all still there. That’s why it didn’t make my bucket list, but I’m glad you think it is bucket list-worthy and I agree with you on Kihei over Lahaina. I’d also recommend Kauai and the Big Island if you haven’t been to those islands. Both are beautiful, but on a slower pace than Maui.

  4. Incredible list! Have you been to Brazil? For so many reasons, it’s an amazing country, one I love so much. The sand dunes of the Northeast, the flood plains of the Pantanal, the historic districts of Sao Paulo, the city of Rio – spectacular in vastly different ways.

    • I haven’t been toBrazil and can’t believe I didn’t think to put it on the list. I have friends who have gone and loved it. I’ll definitely add it. Thanks!

  5. The North Slope of Alaska is amazingly beautiful, especially if you can drive the Dalton Highway on one of the days the tour busses are not running. They kick up so much dust you lose a lot of the views. If you go to Alaska to see ANWR and Denali, add a trip to the Kenai Peninsula and take a glacier cruise.

    • Thanks! I haven’t seen much on the North Slope of Alaska, but will definitely make a note of it. I would like to see the Kenai peninsula and the glaciers out there. I did a glacier cruise through the Tracy Arms Fjord in 1998 and we did one near Anchorage a couple of years ago, but the Kenai Peninsula is supposed to be amazing!

  6. […] on that fateful day in April 1995.  While this single memorial did not put Oklahoma City on my bucket list, it was well worth the visit and I’d highly encourage anyone planning to visit the Oklahoma […]


What are your thoughts?

Categories

